Compute Canada Awards of Excellence ACENET Recipients

June 20, 2018

Congratulations to two of ACENET’s staff, Sergiy Khan, and Oliver Stueker, on their recent Awards of Excellence from Compute Canada. The awards were presented in June at the CANHEIT-TECC conference at Simon Fraser University.

Oliver, located at Memorial University, was nominated jointly by researchers Ray Poirier, Sharene Bungay and Peter Warburton for work he’s been doing with the group for the past five years. He’s done extensive student training with the group, assisted with coding and software issues, helped migrate data, addressed storage, helped with the Globus file transfer platform, and set up a virtual machine in the Compute Canada cloud. The group’s nomination cited Oliver as “…often going beyond the call of duty.”

Sergiy was nominated by both researcher Lev Tarasov at Memorial University and Maxime Boissonneault, head of the Research Support National Team at Compute Canada. Sergiy is being recognized for his responsiveness and creative problem solving with the Tarasov group, and for his work developing and migrating ACENET, Calcul Québec and WestGrid to the Compute Canada national ticketing system. The national ticketing system now with 65 queues and has handled 25,000 tickets over the past two-and-a-half years.

For a complete list of award winners, see the Compute Canada website