ACENET operates under an Inter-Institutional Agreement (IIA) among its members. This IIA details roles and responsibilities, as well as procedures and processes that guide ACENET in our management, operations and governance.

Board of Directors

ACENET’s Board of Directors consists of the Associate or Vice-Presidents of Research at seven of our institutions which contribute to our operation, as well as one member of ACENET's Research Directorate. Among other things, the Board undertakes policy, strategic direction, budget approval and the securing of financial commitments from funding agencies.

Tana Allen Board Chair, VP (Research) Memorial University
Jennifer Bain Associate VP Research Dalhousie University
Adam J. Sarty Associate VP Research Saint Mary’s University
Richard Isnor AVP Research & Graduate Studies St. Francis Xavier University
Laura Estill Professor, Department of English, ACENET Research Directorate member St. Francis Xavier University
Francis Leblanc Vice-recteur adjoint à la recherche et Doyen Université de Moncton
David Magee VP Research University of New Brunswick
Greg Naterer VP
Academic & Research
University of Prince Edward Island

Research Directorate

The ACENET Research Directorate (RD) is a researcher-led committee that provides advice and makes recommendations on digital research infrastructure (DRI) needs and perspectives to the ACENET Board of Directors (Board), ACENET staff, and other stakeholders. The RD serves to generate and advise on ACENET initiatives and facilitates engagement with the broader research community in Atlantic Canada. The RD supports a researcher-centric culture of service to, and engagement with, researchers. 

Please see the RD's Terms of Reference and reach out to any of its members with ideas, questions or concerns.

Ian Church Associate Professor, Principal Investigator
Ocean Mapping Group
University of New Brunswick
Colin Farquharson Associate Professor,
Department of Earth Sciences
Memorial University
Alison Farrell Research Data Management and Public Services Librarian,
Health Sciences Library
Memorial University
Vincent Hénault-Brunet Assistant Professor,
Department of Astronomy and Physics
Saint Mary’s University
Erin Johnson Professor, Department of Chemistry Dalhousie University
Fadoua Khennou Professeure, Département d'informatiques Université de Moncton
Paul Sheridan Assistant Professor,
School of Mathematical & Computational Sciences
University of Prince Edward Island
Samuel Stewart Assistant Professor, Medical Informatics;
Director, Health Data Nova Scotia
Dalhousie University

Digital Research Alliance of Canada Researcher Council – Atlantic Canada Members

Established in 2019, the Digital Research Alliance of Canada (formerly the New Digital Research Infrastructure Organization - NDRIO) is a national not-for-profit organization that is working with other ecosystem partners and stakeholders across the country to help provide Canadian researchers the digital tools, services and infrastructure they need to support leading-edge scientific excellence, research, innovation and advancement across all disciplines. As of 1 April 2022, the Alliance replaced Compute Canada with an expanded mandate that includes not only Advanced Research Computing (previously the purview of Compute Canada), but also Research Data Management and Research Software.

The Researcher Council is a critical component of the Alliance's commitment to involve the research community as it designs a new service delivery model supporting Canada’s new Digital Research Infrastructure (DRI) strategy. The Researcher Council makes recommendations to the Alliance Board and management on the delivery of DRI infrastructure and services, and ensures that a diversity of researcher voices is represented.  More information about the Alliance and its Researcher Council can be found here.

Catherine Lovekin  Associate Professor, Department of Physics Mount Allison University
Ken Penner Assistant Professor, Department of Religious Studies St. Francis Xavier University